The GCP has assembled an experienced and nimble team in its government advocacy group. Tracking and interpreting ever-changing legislation and dynamics at the Statehouse and the Capitol—and reacting swiftly for the benefit of Northeast Ohio’s business community and the overall local economy—requires focus, knowledge and hard work.

GCP Advocacy Staff

M McGann webMarty McGann
Senior Vice President
Government Advocacy 





sghettiSante Ghetti
Vice President
Government Advocacy





Alesha webAlesha Washington
Vice President
Government Advocacy




Olivia OrtegaOlivia Ortega
Government Advocacy



Government Affairs Council

The GCP’s Government Affairs Council is charged by the GCP Board of Directors to represent the concerns of members as they relate to public policy issues at the state, local and federal levels. The Council works with the GCP staff to create the public policy agenda and makes recommendations to the GCP Executive Committee and Board of Directors.

The Council is made up of our volunteer members and is currently chaired by Deborah Read, managing partner, Thompson Hine. Tim Opsitnick of Technology Concepts & Design, Inc., serves as vice chair.

Government Affairs Council Members:

Deborah Z. Read, Chair, Thompson Hine
Tim Opsitnick, Vice Chair, Technology Concepts & Design, Inc.
Kristen Baird Adams, PNC
Keith A. Ashmus, Frantz Ward LLP
Joel Bailey, FirstEnergy Service Company
Kul Bhasin, Comsat Architects
Akram Boutros, MetroHealth Medical Center
Michael Cantor, Allegro Realty Advisors
Michael Canty, Alloy Bellows & Precision Welding
Paul J. Chaffee, Software Answers
Ken Coleman, Fairport Asset Management
Bill Cosgrove, Union Home Mortgage
Brandon Davis, The Austin Group
Paul J. Dolan, Cleveland Indians
Justin Evans, Giant Eagle, Inc.
Jose Feliciano, Hispanic Roundtable of Cleveland
Jay Gershen, Northeast Ohio Medical University (NEOMED)
Paul Gluck, Michael Baker International
Toby Heintzelman, Driftwood Restaurants
Alex Johnson, Cuyahoga Community College
Kevin Johnson, Glenwood Management Company
Ariane Kirkpartick, The AKA Team
Debbie Kuhn, Girltrunks
Lisa Logan, Logan Clutch
Dan McMullen, Calfee, Halter & Griswold, LLP
Duffey Milkie, Cedar Fair
Randy Myeroff, Cohen & Company
Merrick Murphy, Arconic
John Newlin, Quality Services
Larry Oscar, Hahn Loeser
Richard (Dick) Pace, Cumberland Development
Kyle Rose, PolyOne Corporation
Paul Rupert, Martinet & Recchia
Deborah Rutledge, The Rutledge Group
Richik Sarkar, McGlinchey Stafford
Russ Schabel, Philpott Solutions Group
Mike Stanek, Hunt Imaging, LLC
Steve Strnisha, Cleveland International Fund
Taras "Terry" Szmagala Jr., Eaton Corporation
Eddie Taylor, TaylorOswald
Eric Tolbert, Eric Tolbert & Associates
Jeff Walters, CBIZ MHM, LLC
Stacy Ward-Braxton, The Significance Group
Vanessa Whiting, AES Management
Cheryl Perez, BIG-HR

Small Business Caucus

Our volunteer members direct our small business advocacy efforts by providing valuable input and experiences. The COSE Small Business Caucus provides a forum for volunteers to discuss, research and share the specific values, principles and policies of COSE regarding public issues affecting our members. It is through this forum that COSE's small business advocacy decisions are vetted.

COSE Small Business Caucus Chair

Tim Opsitnick, Technology Concepts & Design, Inc. (TCDI)

COSE Small Business Caucus Members

Kevin Ashmus, Frantz Ward
Michael Canty, Alloy Bellows & Precision Welding
Paul Chaffee, Software Answers
Toby Heintzelman, Driftwood Restaurants
Kevin Johnson, NexGen Interactive
Debbie Kuhn, Girltrunks
Lisa Logan, Logan Clutch Corp.
Dan McMullen, Calfee, Halter & Griswold LLP
John Newlin, Quality Services
Paul Rupert, Martinet Recchia, Inc.
Deborah Rutledge, Rutledge Group
Russell Schabel, Philpott Solutions Group
Mike Stanek, Hunt Imaging
Eric Tolbert, Eric Tolbert & Associates
Stacy Ward-Braxton, The Significance Group
Cheryl Perez, BIG-HR