Nov 12

Election Snapshot

The election last week will impact GCP’s advocacy efforts for years to come.  Short highlights from the election are listed below.  


No Blue Wave in Ohio
Republicans were victorious in all five statewide constitutional office races and have won roughly 90% of the elections for these offices since 1990.  Vote percentages below:

  • Governor:  Attorney General Mike DeWine 51% - Richard Cordray 46%
  • Attorney General:  Auditor Dave Yost 52% - Steve Dettelbach 47%
  • Auditor: State Representative Keith Faber 50% - Former Congressman Zach Space 46%
  • Treasurer: State Representative Robert Sprague 54% - Robert Richardson 46%
  • Secretary of State: Senator Frank LaRose 51% - State Representative Kathleen Clyde 46%

Mike DeWine wins Gubernatorial Election

  • The race was not as close as many pundits expected.  Several of the latest polls had DeWine and Cordray even going into Election Day in what was a rematch of their close 2010 Attorney General Election.
  • DeWine won 79 out of the 88 counties in Ohio.  
  • DeWine’s earliest comments since his election have opioids, workforce development, innovation, and engaging local communities in policy-making.  

Ohio Speaker’s Race / House Make Up

  • As of this writing, Speaker Smith appears likely to retain his leadership position in the new General Assembly.  Former Speaker Larry Householder is challenging Smith to regain the position he held in the early 2000s.
  • Democrats picked up seats in the State House but the Republican’s retain a veto-proof majority.  The Republican Majority in the House will reduce from 66-33 to 62-37.  

NEO Statehouse Races

  • All the expected and/or incumbent General Assembly officials were victorious (Rep. Greenspan, Sen.-Elect Manning, Rep.-Elect Manning, Sen.-Elect Antonio, Sen. Williams, Sen. Yuko, Rep. Patton, Rep. Boyd, Rep. Howse, Rep.-Elect Skindell). 
  • One of the few seats to flip parties is in District 6 (south/southeast suburban Cleveland).  Phil Robinson (D) narrowly defeated Jim Trakas (R).

Senate Leadership / Ohio Senate Make Up

  • Senate President Larry Obhof (Medina) will retain his leadership post.  
  • Republican’s enhanced their majority with a net one seat pick up (plus filling a vacant R) seat.  The Republican’s will hold the Senate with a 25 to 8 seat advantage over Democrats.

Issue 1 – Sentencing Reform  

  • Defeated by 27 points and lost in 86 out of 88 counties.  Legislative leaders are already discussing a possible move to make it more difficult to pass initiated constitutional amendments.  Sen. President Obhof is also discussing potential sentencing reforms.  


U.S. Senator Sherrod Brown wins Third Term in U.S. Senate

  • Sen. Brown beat challenger Congressman Jim Renacci 53% to 47%.  Senator Brown will be at GCP for a Morning Conversation on December 10th.  Click for more information.

NEO Congressional Races

  • All the expected and/or incumbent officials were victorious with double digit margins (Rep. Fudge, Rep. Joyce, Rep. Kaptur, Rep.-Elect Gonzalez, Rep. Gibbs).

U.S. House  - Flips to Democrat

  • As the Caucus sorts out their leadership posts, keep an eye on Congressman Tim Ryan (who ran for Speaker in 2017).


Executive Budish Wins Executive Race Easily

  • Executive Budish beat challenger Peter Corrigan by almost 35 points.